Modern Detour: Sarasota

Troy Visit Dec 2013 008Before Kelly and I embark on our new real estate venture this new year, I took a few days to enjoy family for the holidays and do some long needed touring. Yesterday, I drove through Sarasota to get a sense of some of the modernism that exists there. It has been on my list for some time. Asheville artist Mark Bettis lived there previously and owned the “Round House” which I’m pictured standing in front of. It was originally built be Jack West. Following that I took a walking tour of Lido Shores. It is a pocket neighborhood with a history of modernism from early mid-century through today. Pictured are my four favorite homes from that area. I hope to soon return to Sarasota and meet some of the people involved in modern architecture there.

Sarasota CompEveryone enjoy your New Year Holiday and we are looking forward to sharing more with you in 2014. Thanks! Troy

Leave a Reply

