Vintage Modern 06: Local Antiques

Today, I stopped off to visit Morgan and Chad Baker at their shop called Local Antiques while looking for some vintage planters for our new office. I didn’t find what I was looking for, however, I did see a great variety of mid-century furnishings there. I make it one of my regular stops on the weekends.Local Comp

Neighboring Local Antiques are other shops including Nostalgique and Oddfellows Antiques {say hi to Tarleton}. All these are down Swannanoa River Rd from the Tobacco Barn. Then from there you can hit the Biltmore Village area and see Chris at Revive, Chris at Dwellings and then swing up FairviewRd to visit MIX and the Screen Door. Last, circle back to Sweeten Creek and head east to Sweeten Creek antiques where you will find a few mid-century booths. You might catch Jeff rearranging some Eames era ceramics there. Together, the ten or so stores in the area can make for a full afternoon {or day} of home furnishing hunting and not a bad way, if you are like me, to avoid the Super Bowl.

For more on Local Antiques visit their Facebook page.

2 responses to “Vintage Modern 06: Local Antiques

  1. Local Antiques is my new favorite place. I got a cool end table there. They have some great fake gas logs,too. And their prices are reasonable. And don’t forget Sweeten Creek Antiques! 115 Sweeten Creek Blvd. They have some cool modern booths. I have a booth there as well. -Lucky 5.

    • Asheville Modern Architecture, Design and Real Estate

      Ah….and why I didn’t recall that?!!! I should meet you at your booth sometime for a quick story. Thanks for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

